The Louisiana State Board of Architectural Examiners serves the interests of the citizens of Louisiana. Its mission is to safeguard life, health and property and to promote the public welfare through the regulation of the practice of architecture, the development and application of standards, and programs for licensure and credentialing of architects.

It is the board’s objective to ensure that the practice of architecture in this state is reserved for those individuals and firms who have the proper qualifications and have been registered by this board.




The first meeting of the Louisiana State Board of Architectural Examiners was held in the office of the 34th Governor of Louisiana, J.Y. Sanders on November 30, 1910. The board was established by ACT 231, Sec. 5.

The inaugural board included five architect members and in its initial registration period, 215 architects received their license to practice in the state. By 1911, the board was well underway developing the rules and regulations of the craft, with 138 architects renewing their licenses at a cost of $5.00. The qualifications established for licensure were a degree from an architectural college or school of good standing as approved by the Board and successful completion of an examination. The examination cost during these early days was $11.00 per architect.

The Board existed as a semi-autonomous agency until 1941 when the Division of Occupational Standards was established, and they were brought under that branch of state government. LSBAE would stay in that department until 1977 when the Division was abolished. At that time, the Board was moved under the Office of the Governor. Teeny Simmons was hired as the first Executive Director and would remain in that position until 2016 when she retired from the Board with 41 years of service.

In 2001 the law was updated to change the composition of the Board to include a Public Director and Educator Member.

Standing: Tyson Ducote, David Brossett, Kevin Singh, Kristine Kobila, Paul Spaht      Seated: John Cardone, Ron Blitch, Michael Holly Absent: Richard LeBlanc


During the past 100+ years, the Board has served in the public interest to guarantee the safety of life, health and property in the built environment. In addition, it has maintained impeccable standards in the practice of architecture in the State of Louisiana.

Current board Members